Photo by Northfoto via Shutterstock

Background on Pink

Early Start to Music Career
Alecia Beth Moore (Pink) grew up in Doylestown, Pa., where she started learning music from her guitar-playing father at a young age. She began writing music while her parents were going through a divorce, and used music as an outlet. Pink started performing at clubs in Philadelphia when she was just 14, and joined her first band, Middleground, in high school. She then auditioned for the all-female group, Basic Instinct, and earned a spot in the lineup. When Pink was 16, she formed the R&B group, Choice, with two other girls. Their first single, "Key to My Heart," caught the attention of LaFace Records, and the three were signed to a record deal. However, the group's album was never released, and Pink was offered a solo deal after they disbanded in 1998.


2000 - Debut Album, "Can't Take Me Home," Released
Her solo career started out with a bang, as her debut album, "Can't Take Me Home," went two times Multi-Platinum in the U.S. alone. However, Pink believed that her first album gave her a cookie-cutter pop image, and she was looking to be taken more seriously as a songwriter and musician. That concept spawned her sophomore album, "Missundaztood." The new style seemed to work for Pink, as the album was certified five times Platinum.


2003-06 - Awards Roll In
The staggering sales success dipped a bit over the next couple years, relatively speaking, as 2003's "Try This" and 2006's "I'm Not Dead" each secured U.S. Platinum status. Despite fewer sales, Pink secured her second GRAMMY during that time period, winning Best Female Rock Vocal Performance for "Trouble" in 2004. Additionally, she also took home the 2003 honor for World's Best Selling American Pop Female Artist and an MTV Video Music Award in 2006 for Best Pop Video for "Stupid Girls."


2008-10 - Greatest Hits

Pink's fifth studio album, "Funhouse," was released in 2008 with an explosion of hits like "So What," "Sober," and "Please Don't Leave Me." Following that wave of success, Pink gathered up her biggest singles for an installment of "Greatest Hits...So Far!!!" in 2010. It consisted mostly of songs off of previous albums, as well as two new releases, "Raise Your Glass" and "F***in" Perfect."


2012-13 - Fans Can't Get Enough of "The Truth About Love"

The unstoppable performer released "The Truth About Love" in the latter half of 2012, which included singles like "Blow Me (One Last Kiss)," "Try," and "Just Give Me A Reason" featuring Nate Ruess of fun. The album was supported by a 2013 world tour of the same name that sold out nearly every venue on the schedule and subsequently led to the addition of a second North American leg to close out the year.

Major Awards

  • Billboard Music Awards

  • 2000 - Best New Pop Artist
  • 2002 - Top Billboard 200 Album Artist - Female, Top Hot Top 40 Artist

Billboard Music Video Awards

  • 2001 - Director of the Year for "Lady Marmalade"


  • 2002 - Best Pop Collaboration with Vocals
  • 2004 - Best Female Rock Vocal Performance
  • 2011 - Best Pop Collaboration with Vocals

MTV Video Music Awards

  • 2001 - Video of the Year and Best Video from a Film for "Lady Marmalade"
  • 2002 - Best Dance Video and Best Female Video for "Get the Party Started"
  • 2006 - Best Pop Video for "Stupid Girls"

World Music Awards

  • 2003 - World's Best Selling American Pop Female Artist
  • 2007 - World's Best Selling Pop/Rock Artist

Studio Albums

  • 2000

    - Can't Take Me Home (2x U.S. Platinum)
  • 2001

    - Missundaztood (5x U.S. Platinum)
  • 2003

    - Try This (U.S. Platinum)
  • 2006

    - I'm Not Dead (U.S. Platinum)
  • 2008

    - Funhouse (2x U.S. Platinum)
  • 2010

    - Greatest Hits...So Far!!! (U.S. Platinum)
  • 2012

    - The Truth About Love (U.S. Platinum)

Musical Style

Best known for her in-your-face powerful "girl rock," Pink's writing style gravitates toward rebellious, honest, pointed social lyrics, written based on her experiences and touching on her personal life. Her husband, Carey Hart, has been featured in several videos, and a lot of the songs on "Funhouse" revolved around their breakup. Pink's strong voice has set the standard in mainstream music since her start, while her sound alternates between:

  • Rock
  • Pop
  • R&B

Noteworthy Billboard Success

"The Truth About Love" debuted at No. 1 on the Billboard 200, which marked the first time Pink had accomplished the feat in her career. Just a few months later, she achieved another milestone when the album's third single, "Just Give Me a Reason," reached the top spot on the Billboard Adult Pop Songs radio airplay chart, giving the singer the honor for a record eighth time. 

Pink Tours

  • 2002

    - Party Tour
  • 2004

    - Try This Tour
  • 2006-07

    - I'm Not Dead Tour
  • 2009

    - Funhouse Tour
  • 2010

    - The Funhouse Summer Carnival
  • 2013

    - The Truth About Love Tour

Must-See Live Act

A stunt-filled performance at the 2009 MTV Video Music Awards gave audiences all over the world a sneak peak at Pink in concert, and similar awards show appearances since have helped solidify her place as a must-see live act.

Top Singles

    • Can't Take Me Home

    • "There You Go" (U.S. Gold)
    • "Most Girls"
    • "You Make Me Sick"
    • Moulin Rouge Soundtrack

    • "Lady Marmalade"
    • Missundaztood

    • "Get the Party Started"
      (U.S. Gold)
    • "Don't Let Me Get Me"
      (U.S. Gold)
    • "Just Like a Pill" (U.S. Gold)
    • "Family Portrait" (U.S. Gold)
    • Try This

    • "Feel Good Time"
    • "Trouble"
    • "God is a DJ"
    • "Last to Know"
    • I'm Not Dead

    • "Stupid Girls" (U.S. Gold)
    • "Who Knew" (U.S. Platinum)
    • "U + Ur Hand" (U.S. Platinum)
    • "Nobody Knows"
    • "Dear Mr. President"
    • "Leave Me Alone (I'm Lonely)"
    • Funhouse

    • "So What"
    • "Sober"
    • "Please Don't Leave Me"
    • "Bad Influence"
    • "Funhouse"
    • "Glitter in the Air"
    • Greatest Hits...So Far!!!

    • "Raise Your Glass"
    • "F***in Perfect"
    • The Truth About Love

    • "Blow Me (One Last Kiss)"
    • "Try"
    • "Just Give Me a Reason"
      (2x U.S. Platinum)