Photo by Helga Esteb via Shutterstock
(cc by-nc-nd 2.0)

Background on Jason Aldean

Early Adopter
Born on Feb. 28, 1977, Jason Aldine Williams was named after his grandfather, and ultimately changed his name to "Jason Aldean" for performing purposes. He first got his start in music at a young age with help from his father. His parents divorced when he was three, and he spent all of his summers away from his hometown in Georgia in Homestead, Fla., with his dad. Before his father would leave for work in the morning, he would give Jason guitar chords on paper for him to practice during the day. By the time Aldean was 14 and saw the Country Music Awards on TV, he knew he wanted to be on stage. After performing once at a local VFW hall in Macon, Ga., he joined the house band at Nashville South when he was just 15.


Nashville Break
After struggling to stay on various labels, Aldean made one last attempt to get picked up by playing at a showcase at The Wildhorse Saloon in Nashville. He was spotted and picked up by a manager there, and continued to pursue a record contract. Right before he started to pack up his things to move back home to Georgia, he was offered a deal with Broken Bow Records.


Jump to Fame
Aldean didn’t waste any time rising to the top of the country world. His first single, “Hicktown,” was released in 2005, and was certified Gold alongside his other two singles from the album, “Why,” and “Amarillo Sky.” The self-titled debut eventually was certified Platinum in 2007, and it also earned Aldean the honor of “Top New Male Vocalist” at the Academy of Country Music Awards in 2005.


Following Releases
As of May 2013, Aldean has released four albums since breaking into the music scene, with follow ups, “Relentless,” “Wide Open,” “My Kinda Party,” and “Night Train,” garnering countless award nominations. Twelve singles have achieved at least certified Gold status, with a handful going Platinum as well, including "She's Country," "Big Green Tractor," "My Kinda Party," "Don't You Wanna Stay," "Dirt Road Anthem," and "Take a Little Ride." His album success has led to equally as impressive numbers on the road, as his sprawling solo headlining ventures regularly pack venues across the country. 

Band Members

  • Kurt Allison (guitarist)
  • Jack Sizemore (guitarist)
  • Jay Jackson (steel guitarist)
  • Tully Kennedy (bassist)
  • Rich Redmond (drummer)

Jason Aldean Tours

  • 2006

    - Me & My Gang Tour (with Rascal Flatts (headliner))
  • 2007

    - Still Feels Good Tour (with Rascal Flatts (headliner))
  • 2007

    - Free and Easy Summer Tour (with Dierks Bentley (headliner))
  • 2008

    - Live Your Voice Tour (with Tim McGraw (headliner))
  • 2008

    - CMT on Tour: Relentless
  • 2010

    - Last Rodeo Tour (with Brooks & Dunn (headliner))
  • 2010

    - Wide Open Tour
  • 2011-12

    - My Kinda Party Tour
  • 2013

    - Night Train Tour

Studio Albums

  • 2005 - Jason Aldean
  • 2007 - Relentless
  • 2009 - Wide Open
  • 2010 - My Kinda Party (2x Platinum)
  • 2012 - Night Train (Platinum)

Musical Style

Although Aldean’s roots belong to Georgia, he hasn't been afraid to branch out and dabble in other genres outside of country. Songs like his 2011 cover of “Dirt Road Anthem” (video below) showcase his experiments with country rap, and he has hinted that fans will likely see more of it in the future.

  • Country
  • Country Rock
  • Country Rap

Major Awards

Aldean's work has been a hit when it comes to accolades and recognition. His first major honor came in the form of an Academy of Country Music (ACM) Award for Top New Male Vocalist in 2005, and has won over 15 other awards since. Highlights include:

  • 2011 - CMA Awards: Album of the Year for "My Kinda Party"
  • 2012 - Billboard Music Awards: Top Country Album for "My Kinda Party," Top Country Song for "Dirt Road Anthem"
  • 2013 - ACM Awards: Male Vocalist of the Year, Vocal Event of the Year for "The Only Way I Know" (with Luke Bryan and Eric Church)

Top Singles

    • Jason Aldean

    • "Hicktown" (Gold)
    • "Why" (Gold)
    • "Amarillo Sky" (Gold)
    • Relentless

    • "Johnny Cash"
    • "Laughed Until We Cried"
    • "Relentless"
  • Wide Open

    • "She's Country" (2x Platinum)
    • "Big Green Tractor" (Platinum)
    • "The Truth" (Gold)
    • My Kinda Party

    • "My Kinda Party" (Platinum)
    • "Don't You Wanna Stay" (with Kelly Clarkson) (2x Platinum)
    • "Dirt Road Anthem" (3x Platinum)
    • "Tattoos on This Town" (Gold)
    • Night Train

    • "Take a Little Ride" (Platinum)
    • "The Only Way I Know" (with Luke Bryan and Eric Church) (Gold)